The Dunsborough Community Energy Project was created from a grassroots platform and a strong desire to assist communities be in more control of the transition to cleaner, cheaper and more reliable energy. The project therefore has two components built into the model which financially give back to the local community and support participants whilst they are a member of the Virtual Power Plant. 



Community Fund

For every Redback system that is installed as part of the 2019 South West project, Redback Energy will donate $250 to a Community Fund. This Community Fund will be held within each Not for Profit Association in each local town. The money generated within this fund is intended to be put towards local community projects that enhance and assist the local community. To receive this funding, local projects need to align with the principles and ethics of the Dunsborough Community Energy Project and the guidelines created for the Community Fund. 

Each local NFP Association will have a committee of people from the different geographical regions of the area. They will have an ability to vote on what projects receive assistance from  the Community Fund. 


Utility Support Fund 

The Not for Profit Association for each local town will also have a Utility Support Fund. This Fund can assist residents who are experiencing a significant life event (job loss / Major illness), and as a result, cannot pay their lease payments. The aim is to encourage the community to be supportive to its residents in times of crisis.

The Committee of the NFP Association will have the capacity to make payments on behalf of a participant from the Utility Support fund, to ensure they do not fall behind in lease payments. This money will need to be paid back to the Association in time, so other participants can also make use of this fund if need be. 

The Utility Support Fund cannot be used unless participants meet certain criteria. It cannot be used for people who simply don’t pay their bills.



Not For Profit Associations

Dunsborough Community Energy Project 

Founding Not for Profit Association

Founding Committee members:

Emma Morgan

Mark Teasdale

Redmond Sweeney

Allie Smith

Deon and Matt Nickell Davies